Ring in the New Year with Joy!

1a6668c998641231d035590d12551d71As the New Year have rang in, we sometimes look for this to be our motivation to restart, recharge, re-motivate, renew, start something fresh, purge, cleanse, destroy, rid, and devote more time, attention, money, cares to something we hold dear in our hearts.
The New Year is a perfect time for all of that. However, we shouldn’t wait just until January rolls around to start something new and fresh. We shouldn’t keep old and bad habits with us because the new year has come through. Sometimes we are hanging on to bad things in our lives longer than necessary because we’re waiting for an external push to make us get rid of it.
There should be some internal fire and self-determination to make your life a little better everyday.
As I was reading one of my devotionals, it says that “joy” is a choice. Thinking about that, I have to agree.  It is a choice. I am in control of my feelings, reactions, and emotions. I often allow my circumstances and situations to dictate how I’m feeling, and that should not be the case. God gave us the spirit of “joy” as a fruit of the Spirit. We choose to allow things to hinder us and our relationship with God, along with other distractions because of our choices in our emotional responses to how life treats us.
f5e8bd81a47ecbe31561f7d03252e1c0We have to be careful because our lives can possibly bend and change as the wind blows. Being on an emotional rollercoaster like that is detrimental to our mental health! We cannot control other people and their responses… we can only control our responses. Our facial expressions. Our thoughts. Our behaviors. Our emotions. Our responses. We have to mentally and sometimes physically choose to do things different.
I remember when I was in the midst of a storm in my life, and at first I reacted to everything. I was mad all the time. I was irritated. Depressed. Sad. You name I did it. I couldn’t keep my mouth shut, and I couldn’t keep my brain from jumping to the other side and providing a fast quip or snarky comment about anything. I was collapsing and going crazy for about a year.
Then one day I had to face the ultimate test, and from that point on I realized that no matter what happened I had to trust God. I had nothing left or nothing else to give. I was exhausted and tired of disappointment. I realized that this is happening because I haven’t allowed God to fix the situation. I kept jumping in, along with all of my two cents I had to provide. When I finally realized that how I was feeling was being fed by relentless negativity I decided to just shut up. Literally. I didn’t say anything and only responded in very short limited explanations. This allowed me to reserve my most useful responses in other areas where it would serve me better. Once I learned this, a peace of understanding flooded my senses… and I was then able to put all of my trust in God and not fear the unknown that I wouldn’t be able to control anyways.
f917342c8119bf516da649445a63f262So my advise is just to choose “joy.” You can also pray to God to help you uncover the joy that you believe may be lost or you just simply cannot get past the disappointments in your life. He will be there for you and help you recover your joy. He will bring about a peace of understanding and you will be able to see for yourself how trusting God in all of your situations gives you joy! I’m a witness! Test God! He won’t let you down!
Do you need joy in your life today?  All you have to do is call on the name of Jesus and he will give you what you are looking for. His name is the sweetest name I know, and there is no one who can give you what you need besides God. Call on his name! He will answer you!
Psalms 5:11-12
But let all who take refuge in you rejoice;
    let them sing joyful praises forever.
Spread your protection over them,
    that all who love your name may be filled with joy.
 For you bless the godly, O Lord;
    you surround them with your shield of love.
bdcfa55f7770e5488fbda84798995992
2 thoughts on “Ring in the New Year with Joy!

  1. I’ve been where you speak of and had to do the same, but I was much worse off. I didn’t believe that God acted on our prayers the way that he does. I didn’t think it was feasible for an omnipresent all powerful being to care about the troubles of my life.

    When I tested God I asked him to show himself to me, give me a glimmer of hope that he does answer prayers from the miserable. He responded… i was constantly reminded that i had to keep my eyes on him and to lean on him. He had to fix me before I could choose joy, he had to fix my way of thinking and feeling. I didn’t understand why I was going through what I was going through, but he was trying to teach me how to feel joy. Its something that I haven’t done since I was a child. Now I have to say that I can and do choose joy. Everyday I’m blessed and reminded of how blessed I am, I don’t have any other choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

